Subodh Bhargava

Home / Subodh Bhargava

Mr. Subodh Bhargava is a Mechanical Engineer from IIT (Roorkee). He has been the Group Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Eicher Group of Companies. He is a former President of the Confederation of Indian Industries (CII), President of the Association of Indian Automobile Manufacturers and Vice President of the Tractor Manufacturers Association. He has been associated with various Central and State Government bodies and committees including as a member of the Technology Development Board, Insurance Tariff Advisory Committee and the Economic Development Board of the State of Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. He has been closely associated with various IIMs, IITs and other Management and Technical Institutions as well as a number of NGOs – he was member of the Board of Directors of IIT (Roorkee), IIM, Indore, IIM Lucknow, Entrepreneurship Development Institute, Ahmedabad, Foreign Trade Institute, Delhi, State Bank of India and Power Finance Corporation. Presently, he is a member of the board of Governors of IIM, Kashipur & XLRI Jamshedpur.

He is currently the Chairman of Tata Communications Limited, TRF Limited, GlaxoSmithKline Healthcare Limited and Director on the boards of several companies including Tata Motors Ltd., Tata Steel Ltd., Larsen & Toubro Ltd., Tata Communications International Pte. Ltd. and Sun Borne Energy LLC.

Mr. Bhargava is the recipient of the first Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2005 from IIT, Roorkee; the ‘Gaurav Shri Award’ from Agra University in 2011; ‘Best Independent Director 2011’ by Asian Center for Corporate Governance & Sustainability & ‘Global India Business Leader of the Year 2013’ by Horasis (The Global Visions Community) for excellence in entrepreneurship, innovation and leadership.