Asian Centre for Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2006

The Global Advisory Board of Asian Centre for Corporate Governance instituted Corporate Governance Awards in 2006. The awards were given for four categories :

  • Best Governed Company
  • Best Audit Committee
  • Best Non Executive Director
  • Best Woman Director
  • The awards for 2006 were won by :

  • Tata Steel Ltd. – Best Governed Company – 2006
  • Infosys technologies Ltd. – Best Audit Committee-2006
  • Mr. Deepak Parekh- Best Non Executive Director- 2006
  • Ms. Zia Mody – Best Woman Director- 2006
  • The awards were handed over by Mr Philip Armstrong – Head Global Corporate Governance Forum, Washington DC, and Mr. Mervyn King, Author King’s Committee Report on Corporate Governance, at a glittering function at Hotel Taj Mahal, Mumbai on November 10, 2006

    Zia Mody receiving ‘Best woman Director Award’ at the hands of Mr. Mervyn King, Chairman Asian Centre for Corporate Governance. Others seen in picture are (L-R) M.K.Chouhan & Mr Philip Armstrong, Head Global Corporate Governance Forum, Washington DC.

    Asian Centre proposes to gave these awards, at it’s 8th International Conference on Corporate Governance & Sustainability on Wednesday, 23rd January 2008 at Hotel Taj Mahal Mumbai. The conference was organized in partnership with Indian Merchants Chamber. The conference, was supported by Singapore Institute of Directors (SID), The Hong Kong Institute of Directors and Malaysian Institute of Corporate Governance, Thai Institute of Directors & IICD, Indonesia and Institute of company Secretaries of India. The Objective of these awards is to promote the Philosophy & Culture of Good Corporate Governance in general and recognize the Companies & Individual Directors who are ensuring ‘Practice of Good Corporate Governance’. This will encourage others to adopt Good Corporate Governance Practices & raise the bar gradually.


    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2012
    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2011 at Mauritius
    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2010
    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2009
    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2008
    Corporate Governance & Sustainability Awards - 2007